Tata Harrier to Get its 7-seater Version Later This Year

by IndianAuto Team | 10/04/2020
Share this post:
Tata Motor is developing a range of new SUVs for the Indian market. One of these SUVs is the Tata Gravias, Tata’s future flagship model. The new SUV will go on sale in 6- and 7-seater configuration.

The Indian SUV segment has been witnessing an unprecedented growth in recent years. The flourishing SUV market has attracted all major car brands in the market while traditional players like Tata Motors have been working wiht a stronger focus. The homegrown car manufacturer has announced an ambitious plan to expand its influence in the space by launching a range of SUVs in the next two or three years. At the Auto Expo 2020, Tata unveiled many models including the HBX mini SUV and Gravitas 7-seater SUV. While the HBX mini-SUV will be positioned as an affordable offering, the Gravitas will lead the Tata’s line-up as the flagship model.

Tata Gravitas Showcased At Auto Expo 2020

The upcoming flagship model of Tata Motors will be offered in two seating configurations, 6- and 7-seater setting. For the six-seater version, the second row will comprise of two captain seats while the seven-seater version will feature a regular bench seat for the second row. In the beginning, Tata Motors will only offer the 6-seater Gravitas and the 7-seater version will follow later.

tata gravitas front face auto expo 2020

Tata Gravitas will be the new flagship model of Tata Motors

Tata Gravitas is built on the OMEGA ARC architecture. Compared with the Tata Harrier mid-size SUV, the Gravitas will be dimensionally bigger with a length and height differences of 63 mm and 80 mm respectively. Under the hood, the Tata Gravitas shares the same engine setting with the new Harrier. The flagship SUV will receive power from a 2.0-litre 4-cylinder turbocharged diesel engine that unleashes a maximum power of 170 PS and peak torque of 350 Nm. It will come with two choices of transmissions including a 6-peed manual and 6-speed torque converter unit. Additionally, Tata Gravitas is offered with multiple driving modes, Eco, City and Sport, along with Terrain Response System that includes three models, Normal, Wet, and Rough.


All To Know About The Tata Gravitas (7-Seater Harrier)

In terms of features, as a flagship car, the Tata Gravitas will be loaded to the brim with premium and upmarket creature comforts. The new SUV will come with an 8.8-inch touchscreen infotainment system with Android Auto and Apple CarPlay, keyless entry, push-button start, cruise control, panoramic sunroof, and electrically adjustable driver seat, to name a few.

Currently, Tata Hexa is offered as the flagship model on Tata’s portfolio. Tata Hexa is priced from Rs 13.7 lakh to Rs 19.27 lakh (ex-showroom). The upcoming flagship is expected to be more expensive with the starting price of around Rs 15 lakh. After launch, this SUV will fare against the likes of Mahindra XUV500, upcoming seven-seater MG Hector and seven-seater Hyundai Creta.

Tracking icon
Would you like to receive notifications with latest news and car deals from IndianAuto?